"The only thing one can do is follow himself . . . dig in, discover what he is, and who he is, and reveal himself." – Henry Miller

Higher, faster, stronger…

London made me proud last weekend. The Opening Ceremony of the XXX Olympiad was a brilliant celebration of British history, culture and diversity. The passing of the torch and design of the flame were inspired moments. For me, there is always something special about the Olympic Games. I often find myself glued to the telly, celebrating great moments in sports in which I usually have no interest whatsoever. This year, with the Games being held in my own home city, the excitement is greater than ever.

So I’m taking a break from blogging, as I try to juggle work commitments and the Olympics – in the latter case, attending swimming and athletic events, and following the fortunes of Wiggins, Hoy, Adlington, Ennis, Idowu, Bolt, Blake and the other top athletes. The prospect of another record-breaking men’s 100m final, the Games’ blue-ribbon event, has me drooling!

In the meantime, I recommend the blog of my friend Dawn, who is volunteering at the Games: http://dawndenton.wordpress.com

See you all soon!

One response

  1. I loved the opening ceremony, though I saw it on repeat in the morning. My jetlag was getting in the way :-). It was different, new and very much taking new ideas to a new level.
    The Bond/Queen part was brilliant!

    Have fun watching it all. We have use, streaming, radio, twitter and liveblogs to keep up. Absolutely loving it. London deserves a medal for it already

    August 4, 2012 at 12:21

Tell me what you think!

